Trudy Lile – jazz vocalist, jazz flutist, performer, educator, composer

Trudy Lile and Mojave - 'Well Dressed Standards' (2009 Ode Records)

::Pictures:mojave album pics:bouganvillia.jpg

“Fresh organic and straight from the creative arrangement palette of Trudy Lile, this is a beautiful collection of jazz standards you know and love from the great American songbook. They are delivered in a fresh contemporary jazz style, with a hint of samba, a dash of salsa, a dollop of reggae, and a generous serving of bossa nova, and funk.

A quartet of some of New Zealand’s finest jazz musicians, the energetic sounds of Mojave is comprised of the ever brilliant pianist Kevin Field, combined with the solid warmth and groove of bassist David Hogkinson, and the always complimentary drumming of Jason Orme all based around Auckland based Trudy Lile’s jazz flute and vocals.”

This album has been played on Air New Zealand’s long-haul playlists and if you can't make it to one of our gigs, the album can be purchased online from:

Apple iTunes Store - look for iTunes Music/Jazz/Mojave/Well Dressed Standards

Amplifier - http://www.amplifier.co.nz/release/44182/well-dressed-standards.html

Digirama - http://www.digirama.co.nz/albumdetails.aspx?MediaID=1113677

Bandcamp  

 

Poinciana - http://trudylile.bandcamp.com/track/poinciana
Like Someone In Love - http://trudylile.bandcamp.com/track/like-someone-in-love
A Foggy Day - http://trudylile.bandcamp.com/track/a-foggy-day
So In Love - http://trudylile.bandcamp.com/track/so-in-love
Where Or When - http://trudylile.bandcamp.com/track/where-or-when
Blue Skies - http://trudylile.bandcamp.com/track/blue-skies
All Or Nothing At All - http://trudylile.bandcamp.com/track/all-or-nothing-at-all
Alone Together - http://trudylile.bandcamp.com/track/alone-together
All Of You - http://trudylile.bandcamp.com/track/all-of-you
That’s All - http://trudylile.bandcamp.com/track/thats-all

 

 

Mojave - 'Ristretto' (2004)

Ristretto album cover

“Take some contemporary jazz, add a dash of latin and sprinkle some lounge. Heat moderately and stir till smooth. The result is one of the best albums I’ve heard this year. Mojave, (Trudy Lile- flute and vocals, Kevin Field – Piano, Nathan Porter – Piano, Pete Thornley – Bass, Phil Cook – Drums, and John Highsted – Percussion), are an Auckland based quartet whose album is a stylish blend of classic jazz and popular standards as well as their own originals. Trudy Lile’s superb flute playing reminds you that flute can be cool and more Jethro Tull and Hubert Laws than James Galway. Kevin Field and Nathan Porter show how piano should be played and highlight just how far the rest of us mortals have to go. Tasteful drumming, excellent percussion as well as some sublime bass playing rounds out the rhythm section and keeps the group on tracks. Recorded at Avondale College and produced by Sam Giles and Trudy Lile, ‘Ristretto’ covers everything from Herbie Mann’s Bossa Nova Blues, to Jethro Tull’s Living in the Past. These guys are great and you’d better get used to them as I’m sure you’ll be hearing a lot of this album at a café near you.”
--Nick Batt, for New Zealand Musician Magazine, Vol.11No.6June/July 2004

Buy the album - Ristretto Amplifier -http://www.amplifier.co.nz/release/7419/ristretto.html

Bandcamp

Caravan - http://trudylile.bandcamp.com/track/caravan
Bossa Nova Blues -http://trudylile.bandcamp.com/track/bossa-nova-blues
Ristretto  - http://trudylile.bandcamp.com/track/ristretto
Fig - http://trudylile.bandcamp.com/track/fig
Seventh Base- http://trudylile.bandcamp.com/track/seventh-base
Mas Que Nada - http://trudylile.bandcamp.com/track/mas-que-nada
Blues By Friday- http://trudylile.bandcamp.com/track/blues-by-friday
Fever - http://trudylile.bandcamp.com/track/fever
Living In The Past - http://trudylile.bandcamp.com/track/living-in-the-past
Mojave - http://trudylile.bandcamp.com/track/mojave
Softly As In A Morning Sunrise - http://trudylile.bandcamp.com/track/softly-as-in-a-morning-sunrise
Corcovado - http://trudylile.bandcamp.com/track/corcovado

 

For booking and all enquiries please contact:
email trudy@trudylile.co.nz or call 021 702 942